Thankfulness For Faithfulness

In my life I have so many things to be thankful for. God has blessed me mightily in knowing Him, giving me a beautiful family and a job that enables me to provide for them. As I reflected on all the good that God has done this past year I haven’t forgotten the difficult and painful elements that came with it. It was not always easy and at times I honestly wondered what God was doing and why He was allowing some of these things to take place.

prayingman

For some people that maybe where you are at today. It may be difficult or feel trivial to give thanks for the “small things” in life when so much is wrong and things aren’t going the way you hopped (to put it mildly in some cases). In most of these kinds of situations there are no easy fixes. But there are unbreakable promises from God that we can trust in. Most notably Romans 8:28 where God makes it explicitly clear that He is working all events for good to those who love Him (even if we can’t perceive the end result).

But in the midst of painful and difficult circumstances it can be difficult to cling to such promises. This is why I am so grateful for the faithfulness of others when I am find myself faithless. There have been countless times where I have been at the point of despair but have been encouraged by the lives of other believers (both past and present). Whether spiritual giants such as St. Augustine or faithful prayer warriors in church who gave me a smile and a kind word when I needed it most. God has used these saints to encourage me and build my faith in ways I could never do alone. It reminded me of a quote (I cannot remember the author’s name) which essential said we are reaping the blessings of others prayers.  Christians of the past and present whom never knew you (nor you them) have prayed for things to happen in this life and you and I are reaping the benefits of their prayers without even realizing it. That’s an amazingly powerful truth and something that we can all be thankful for this year.

21_tree-rings

So wherever you find yourself this Thanksgiving give thanks to God for all those faithful men and women who have gone before us and take some time pray for the next generation that they may reap the benefits of others prayers just as we have.

~ by simplesage on November 28, 2013.

One Response to “Thankfulness For Faithfulness”

  1. I recently read a devotional where it explained Jesus’ intercession for us (Hebrews 7:25) and how the present-faith we hold is enabled by Christ. The thought was interesting, but the reality of our God and King prioritizing his time, energy, effort and focus to our own life is deeply penetrating. Following his example means that I ought to be more fervent in prayer, take more responsibility for my wife, daughter, and local body of believers. It means that I ought to better consider his ways of initiative and love and prayer. Now I share this particularly because these saints have followed this. The saints of old who have prayed for us today (and even future generations) concerned themselves with the glory of Christ and the love of his bride beyond their local congregation, beyond global brotherhood, and into the lives of the future saints. What a legacy to leave behind for us to follow. As you said, may we do the same.

Leave a Reply

 
